Azealia Banks dropped a bomb on the world last Thursday with the release of her debut studio album, Broke With Expensive Taste (BWET). The album features tracks you’ve already heard if you’re a Banks fan, such as “212”, “Luxury”, “BBD”, “Yung Rapunxel”, and “Heavy Metal & Reflective”. The 16-track album has limited features, calling on Lazy Jay and Theophilus London exclusively. This project is literally years in the making, which is what makes it so special. BWET experienced several delays since September 2012! It was finally released independently by Banks and Prospect Park after she split from Universal Music over the summer.

“I know this is hella petty, but I need y’all to know that I a&r’d that record myself.. No help from polydor or interscope,” Banks told her Kunt Brigade. “I am the executive producer, everything…. my blood sweat and tears literally went into the making of this album.” The album features house, hip-hop, and a style that only a New Yorker (and a Gemini) could create. This is one of the most innovative projects to release this year. Stream here via Spotify.